Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Adventure with a safety rope

INTERVIEW WITH CLAS VESPER, PROJECT MANAGER AT PLASTICS CENTRE LAST UPDATED: 2012

In 2005, the management offered its trainees a year-long placement abroad for the first time. One of the options on the table was a stay in China. No-one took up the challenge – except Clas Vesper, who was then an apprentice toolmaker in the plastics production plant. He assumed a pioneering role and also posed new logistical challenges for Gira relating to the organisation of a job, accommodation and a visa. Just under a year later he started his trip to the mega-metropolis Shanghai.

Topics in this article


Vocational training


Stay abroad


Dual course of study

Mr Vesper, why were you the only one who showed an interest in an overseas stay in China?

CV: I think that other people were also interested, but back then no-one dared to do it.

How about you, weren't you nervous?

CV: Of course, I drove myself crazy the six or three, four months beforehand, when it become clear that I really was going over there. I had done a lot or preparation, including about the culture over there, and had read several books. In the end it wasn't that bad at all. It was a culture shock, but not as extreme as my colleagues had made out in the run-up.

What did Gira do to prepare you as well as possible for your year in China?

CV: Gira took care of the general things for me, of course: my job, accommodation, insurance, visa, all the flights, and also sorted out my holidays in Germany, which was quite convenient for me. Once I was there, I was also able to contact Gira's Shanghai office with any issues that I had, as someone there spoke German. So I always had a backup in case something were to happen. And even if I had wanted to interrupt my stay in a worst-case scenario, I would only have had to make a phone call.

Had you already organised your return to your job beforehand, so that you could calmly embark on the stay in China?

CV: Yes, we had already discussed in advance which options were available for me for re-entry, and it was also clear that this year in China would further my career. I also knew that I would start work again as a project advisor and would be in charge of international tool procurement in tooling, with a focus on Asia.

Does that mean that you are still travelling around China nowadays?

CV: Yes, I am a project manager in the plastics centre and am responsible here for supervision of the tools that we arrange to have produced in China. For this reason I am always on the move there and am always surprised by how quickly everything develops locally, in terms of English language skills alone.

Was that different in 2006?

CV: Yes, the company was located in the Fengxian district, very far outside the centre of Shanghai. No-one there could speak English and I couldn't speak Chinese. I more or less jumped in at the deep end.



Cast your lines and reel in your dream job:
Clas Vesper had the courage to venture abroad – and by doing so clearly qualified for international tool procurement. "The year in China was definitely worthwhile for me."


How is it possible to work together without the relevant language skills?

CV: With design drawings and gestures.

That sounds crazy.

CV: Yes, with hindsight that's what I sometimes thought, too. But it works. A tool drawing is considered the same all over the world, and is very useful for making oneself understood. We still do this today.

Did you receive feedback now and again on how satisfied they were with your work?

CV: I was praised fairly often, but for things that I thought were nothing special. Once I got into trouble because of a broken mould insert. My boss stood in front of me and roared at me in Chinese, and of course I didn't understand a word.

Is it not always the case that the Chinese are not allowed to react in an explosive manner for fear of losing face?

CV: Beforehand, I was often told that for fear of losing face I should be careful not to ridicule the Chinese in front of other people, be careful about telling jokes and not attack them verbally. I was not able to confirm this, however. In production it was sometimes definitely louder, if somewhat more restrained than in Germany.

Where did you live?

CV: I had an apartment 300 metres away from the company. I lived there together with a manager from the Design department. But it wasn't ideal, partly because I had the feeling that I was being tightly monitored.

How could you tell?

CV: For example, once I was encouraged not to go out at the weekend so that I could focus more on my work. This is not something we are familiar with as Europeans. Later I looked for a new apartment.


Clas Vesper prefers German food.
"Food was a major issue on my first visit to China. At the beginning I simply couldn't eat much."


Did you see other things of the country and the people?

CV: To a limited extent, once I was in Beijing, but I really only had Sunday off, and the urge to travel around China was not so great. But I often went out with my Chinese colleagues at the weekend. And later I got to know an Australian with whom I did a lot of travelling. There was the "Europbar" in the neighbouring town, where the foreigners in the area met up.

Didn't your Chinese colleagues go there with you?

CV: No, I often invited them to come along, but most of them didn't want to.

Generally speaking, is it difficult to get to know one another better? Due to the differences in mentality?

CV: I had one colleague who confided in me a lot. But generally speaking, the Chinese are more detached in their private life. And their humour was really noticeably different. Europeans laugh at completely different things.

Which aspects of your stay can you remember most vividly?

CV: Eating was a major issue. At the beginning I simply couldn't eat much. But at some point I thought: The Chinese are still all alive. And then I started to really tuck in and tried everything. Except dog.

And then you also had to get through a karaoke evening.

CV: Yes, this was a national holiday, and before this there was a party with the karaoke evening. My colleagues dragged me on to the stage and I had to sing in front of 450 people.

That really sounds like a culture shock. In spite of this, would you say that this one year in China was worthwhile for you?

CV: The year was definitely worthwhile for me, in many respects. On a personal level of course, if for no other reason than experience, because it made me more independent and self-sufficient to some extent. And also at a professional level, as it took me in the direction I wanted to go.

PROFILE OF CLAS VESPER


Born
1983

At Gira since
2001

Training
as a toolmaker specialising in mould engineering

Career at Gira
After eighteen months' continued work with the company, Clas Vesper went to Shanghai, China for a year. After his return, he worked as a project team member in tooling, while supervising international tool procurement. He has been a project manager in the plastics centre since 2011

Current training measure
In addition to his activities in the company, Clas Vesper is currently completing training as a technician in the specialist field of mechanical engineering

[Last updated: 2016]


Further information

Gira verwendet Cookies für Websites in der Domain gira.de. Durch die Nutzung unserer Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Erfahren Sie mehr zu den von uns oder Dritten eingesetzten Cookies und Ihren Möglichkeiten diese auszustellen in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Ok

Abenteuer mit Sicherungsleine

INTERVIEW MIT CLAS VESPER, PROJEKTLEITER KUNSTSTOFFZENTRUM
STAND 2012

Im Jahr 2005 bot die Geschäftsführung ihren Auszubildenden erstmals ein Jahr Arbeit im Ausland an. Im Raum stand ein Aufenthalt in China. Niemand machte Ernst – bis auf Clas Vesper, damals Auszubildender zum Werkzeugmechaniker in der Kunststofffertigung. Er übernahm die Vorreiterrolle und stellte auch Gira vor neue logistische Herausforderungen in Bezug auf die Organisation von Arbeitsstelle, Unterkunft und Visum. Knapp ein Jahr später startete seine Reise in die Millionenmetropole Shanghai.

Themen Dieses Artikels


Ausbildung


Auslandsaufenthalt


Duales Studium

Herr Vesper, warum waren Sie der Einzige, der Interesse am Auslandsaufenthalt in China gezeigt hat?

CV: Ich glaube, Interesse hatten die anderen auch, aber es hat sich damals niemand so recht getraut.

Wie war das denn bei Ihnen, waren Sie nicht nervös?

CV: Doch natürlich, ich hab mich verrückt gemacht dieses halbe Jahr bzw. die drei, vier Monate vorher, in denen klar war, dass ich wirklich rübergehe. Ich hatte mich gut vorbereitet, auch über die Kultur dort, und mehrere Bücher gelesen. Am Ende war das alles nicht so wild. Es gab schon einen Kulturschock, aber nicht so extrem, wie es im Vorfeld von meinen Kollegen geschildert wurde.

Was hat Gira unternommen, um Sie möglichst gut auf Ihr Jahr in China vorzubereiten?

CV: Gira hat natürlich die generellen Dinge für mich geregelt, meine Stelle, die Unterkunft, Versicherungen, Visa, alle Flüge, auch für meine Urlaube in Deutschland, das war ziemlich komfortabel für mich. Auch vor Ort konnte ich bei allen Fragen auf das Schanghai- Office von Gira zurückgreifen, dort hat jemand Deutsch gesprochen. Es gab für mich also immer ein Back-up, falls etwas passieren sollte. Auch im Worst Case, wenn ich den Aufenthalt hätte abbrechen wollen, wäre das nur ein Anruf gewesen.

Hatten Sie vorher schon Ihren Wiedereinstieg geregelt, sodass Sie sich beruhigt auf den Aufenthalt in China einlassen konnten?

CV: Ja, wir hatten schon im Vorfeld besprochen, welche Möglichkeiten des Wiedereinstiegs es für mich gibt, und es war auch klar, dass mich dieses Jahr in China beruflich weiterbringen sollte. Ich wusste also schon, dass ich als Projektsachbearbeiter wieder anfangen und in der Werkzeugbereitstellung die internationale Werkzeugbeschaffung mit Schwerpunkt Asien betreuen würde.

Das heißt, Sie sind auch heute weiterhin in China unterwegs?

CV: Ja, ich bin Projektleiter im Kunststoffzentrum und hier für die Betreuung der Werkzeuge, die wir in China fertigen lassen, verantwortlich. Von daher bin ich immer noch dort unterwegs und wundere mich jedes Mal, wie schnell sich vor Ort alles entwickelt, allein was die Englischsprachkenntnisse angeht.

2006 war das noch anders?

CV: Ja, das Unternehmen lag im Fengxian District, also sehr weit außerhalb des Zentrums von Schanghai. Dort konnte keiner Englisch, und ich konnte kein Chinesisch. Ich bin ziemlich ins kalte Wasser gesprungen.



Die Leinen auswerfen und die gewünschte Stelle „an Land ziehen“:
Clas Vesper hat den Schritt ins Ausland gewagt – und sich damit bei Gira ganz klar für die internationale Werkzeugbeschaffung qualifiziert. „Das Jahr in China hat sich definitiv für mich gelohnt.“


Wie funktioniert die Zusammenarbeit ohne entsprechende Sprachkenntnisse?

CV: Mit Konstruktionszeichnungen und mit Händen und Füßen.

Das klingt verrückt.

CV: Ja, im Nachhinein hab ich das auch manchmal gedacht. Aber das funktioniert. Eine Werkzeugzeichnung wird überall auf der Welt als gleich angesehen, darüber kann man sich sehr gut verständigen. Das machen wir auch heute noch so.

Haben Sie ab und zu Feedback bekommen, ob man zufrieden mit Ihrer Arbeit ist?

CV: Ich wurde ziemlich oft gelobt, aber für Dinge, von denen ich dachte, das ist doch nichts Besonderes. Einmal habe ich aber auch Ärger bekommen wegen eines kaputten Formeinsatzes. Da stand mein Chef vor mir und hat auf Chinesisch gebrüllt, und ich habe natürlich kein Wort verstanden.

Heißt es nicht immer, dass Chinesen nicht aufbrausend reagieren dürfen, weil sie sonst einen Gesichtsverlust riskieren?

CV: Im Vorfeld wurde mir oft gesagt, dass ich wegen des Gesichtsverlustes aufpassen muss, man soll Chinesen nicht vor anderen Leuten lächerlich machen, vorsichtig sein mit Witzen und sie nicht verbal angreifen. Das konnte ich aber nicht bestätigen. In der Fertigung wurde es durchaus schon mal lauter, wenn auch etwas verhaltener als in Deutschland.

Wo haben Sie gewohnt?

CV: Ich hatte eine Wohnung, 300 Meter vom Unternehmen entfernt. Da habe ich mit einem Leiter aus der Konstruktion zusammengewohnt. Aber das hat nicht so gepasst, unter anderem, weil ich das Gefühl hatte, stark kontrolliert zu werden.

Woran haben Sie das gemerkt?

CV: Mir wurde zum Beispiel einmal nahegelegt, am Wochenende nicht auszugehen, damit ich mich mehr auf die Arbeit konzentrieren könne. Das kennt man natürlich als Europäer nicht. Später habe ich mir dann eine neue Wohnung gesucht.


Clas Vesper mag den heimischen Fisch.
„Nahrung war ein großes Thema bei meinem ersten Besuch in China. Am Anfang konnte ich vieles einfach nicht essen.“


Haben Sie noch andere Dinge von Land und Leuten gesehen?

CV: Bedingt, einmal war ich in Peking, aber wirklich frei hatte ich ja nur am Sonntag, und da war der Drang, in China herumzureisen, nicht so groß. Aber ich bin am Wochenende oft mit meinen chinesischen Kollegen ausgegangen. Und nachher habe ich einen Australier kennengelernt, mit dem ich viel unterwegs war. Im Nachbarort gab es die „Europabar“, da haben sich die Ausländer der Umgebung getroffen.

Ihre chinesischen Kollegen waren dann nicht dabei?

CV: Nein, ich hatte öfter mal dorthin eingeladen, aber das wollten die meisten Kollegen nicht.

Ist es nicht generell schwierig, sich näher kennenzulernen? Schon wegen der Mentalitätsunterschiede?

CV: Einen Kollegen hatte ich, der hat mir vieles anvertraut. Aber generell sind Chinesen schon distanzierter im Privatleben. Und wirklich auffallend anders war der Humor. Europäer lachen über ganz andere Dinge.

Welche Aspekte Ihres Aufenthaltes sind Ihnen am lebendigsten in Erinnerung geblieben?

CV: Essen war ein großes Thema. Am Anfang konnte ich vieles einfach nicht essen. Irgendwann dachte ich aber: Die Chinesen leben ja auch noch alle. Und dann habe ich angefangen richtig zuzulangen und habe alles probiert. Außer Hund.

Und dann mussten Sie auch noch einen Karaoke-Abend durchstehen.

CV: Ja, das war zu National Holidays, und davor gab es diese Feier mit dem Karaoke- Abend. Da haben meine Kollegen mich auf die Bühne geholt, und ich musste vor 450 Mann singen.

Das klingt wirklich nach Kulturschock. Würden Sie trotzdem sagen, dass sich dieses eine Jahr in China für Sie gelohnt hat?

CV: Das Jahr hat sich definitiv für mich gelohnt, in vielerlei Hinsicht. Privat natürlich, allein wegen der Erfahrung, weil es mich ein Stück weit unabhängiger und selbstständiger gemacht hat. Und auch in beruflicher Hinsicht, weil es mich in die Richtung gelenkt hat, in die ich wollte.

STECKBRIEF CLAS VESPER


Geboren
1983

Bei Gira seit
2001

Ausbildung
zum Werkzeugmechaniker mit Fachrichtung Formentechnik

Werdegang bei Gira
Nach eineinhalb Jahren Weiterarbeit im Unternehmen ging Clas Vesper für ein Jahr nach Schanghai, China. Nach der Rückkehr arbeitete er als Projektbearbeiter in der Werkzeugbereitstellung, betreute dabei die internationale Werkzeugbeschaffung. Seit 2011 ist er Projektleiter im Kunststoffzentrum.

Aktuelle Weiterbildungsmaßnahme
Zusätzlich zu seinen Tätigkeiten im Unternehmen absolviert Clas Vesper derzeit eine Technikerausbildung in der Fachrichtung Maschinenbautechnik

[Stand 2016]


Weitere Informationen