Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Going to the limits – with backup

INTERVIEW WITH SEBASTIAN MARZ, ASSISTANT TO DIRK GIERSIEPEN, IN CHARGE OF INTRODUCTION OF SAP LAST UPDATED: 2012

At the age of just 29, Sebastian Marz heads up what might be Gira's largest organisational project: the introduction of SAP as the lead software for all business processes in the company. "No ordinary task", says the industrial business management assistant and industrial engineer, who took over as assistant to the management at the age of just 24. "But one which is easily doable – if the support is there in the company."

Topics in this article


Innovation processes


New technologies


Project management

Mr Marz, a lot of companies have great respect in particular for the introduction of SAP. Why is that?

SM: From the perspective of management, certainly because of the cost. But employees develop anxieties: due to the adjustment and huge workload involved. The whole system is turned around in every area. A lot of familiar workflows are therefore changed in a project like this. Gira introduced the current software 25 years ago, so you can imagine how much work that entails.

People were saying that companies had gone out of business due to SAP.

SM: When you hear these horror stories, this usually involves companies which were not really very healthy any more and which perhaps wanted to use SAP to optimise their business processes. Nevertheless, a large, ambitious and complex project like this can definitely test the limits of a company.

Doesn't this put you, as a project manager, under enormous pressure? At the age of 29, you are one of the younger employees at Gira.

SM: In this regard, I feel quite a special responsibility for my colleagues and also for the whole company, I know what depends on it. There are moments when it goes beyond the pain threshold.

How do you and Gira deal with that?

SM: In this situation, it's important that there are people who help me to see things from a different perspective or even to take a step back. Since the beginning of the project, I have had access to an experienced external consultant who supports me in difficult issues. I also have fixed contact partners in management and the HR department who I can count on.

What are some of your specific tasks in the project?

SM: It's actually the classic project management task, only on a very large scale. At the beginning, we set up the project structures in a smaller group, then we worked on budget planning and scheduling. If a sub-project has problems with the service providers, whom we commissioned for the introduction of SAP, I provided support for troubleshooting. I also provided support for test cases in order to ensure the integration of the system together with the sub-project managers.

Towards the end, it gets really exciting, doesn't it?

SM: Yes, for at some point, together with my colleagues I have to make a recommendation to management about the go-live decision, after which Gira starts working fully with the system. It's important to weigh up the risks very precisely. Operations must continue to run smoothly so that our customers can be supplied seamlessly. This has top priority.



Sebastian Marz finds a balance to his thoroughly sporty professional life in handball, usually at least. "At the moment I am holding back from playing, because if I were to sustain an injury tight now and end up in hospital for two weeks with a torn ligament, for example, this would not be beneficial for the project."


Your project team runs through the entire company as all areas are affected. What magnitude are we talking here?

SM: It varies. The core team is made up of ten sub-project managers and around ten people from IT. Sometimes around ten process experts are called in and in peak periods, in which mass tests are performed, there are sometimes 50 to 60 people working on the project at the same time.

What is the biggest challenge for you personally?

SM: There are two things. First, the complexity of the entire system. Just-in-time production poses huge challenges for the SAP system, for example with regard to troubleshooting. Getting people on board is another huge challenge. I consider this to be one of the most important steps of all. There is a really a lot of anxiety in the room, which we have to get rid of.

How do you deal with that?

SM: We have developed a very extensive training concept and set up various training rooms. First of all, the so-called in-house multipliers learn how to use the system, they then pass on their knowledge. We also work with a special software tool, which records different processes that can later be called up again at the workplace as a reminder.

How do you manage to keep people together in this huge project and not miss anything?

SM: We have regular meetings with the sub-project managers and have set up project rooms near to the areas in question so that the employees don't have to go very far to meet up. To this end, we always seek close contact to the works council so that we can keep an eye on the concerns of the employees involved. The situation we have here is very good. We meet up every two weeks and speak to each other openly.

Do you sometimes have to work overtime?

SM: Time demands made by the project are certainly very high. In peak periods, when showing full commitment to Gira, you have to take care not to overdo it. At Gira, colleagues are sometimes so enthusiastic about a topic that they forget about a lot of what is going on around them. There is a certain element of risk here, and that's why it is important to hear the employer say: We will look after you. We can talk about these things openly here.

Didn't you have a healthy respect for this project at the beginning? You most certainly guessed that you would be given a lot of work, and yet you were also still in the midst of final-year project stress.

SM: At first, I was a bit overwhelmed, but I think this is normal at the beginning of a project like this. I was also already involved in the SAP project and so knew more or less what what was awaiting me. There were things that didn't go so well in the past, but after a discussion with management and the HR department, I got the support I needed and also the security that I needed. I have to say that when Mr Giersiepen makes a statement and even if it is only a verbal one, then you can count on it.

If you now had to sum up, what would you say?

SM: I would say that you develop a great deal in a phase like this. Clearly, I reached my own limits, but I also learnt a great deal. The project has already been running for over 18 months now, and there were situations in which I felt quite uncomfortable, which, however, are no longer a problem now.

What kind of situations?

SM: For example, leading discussion groups with large groups of people and discussing critical topics with considerably older and more experienced colleagues. Or situations in which I clearly defended the interests of our company to the management of external project partners.

Do you still have a positive attitude to it?

SM: Yes, I am a person who likes dealing with new tasks, who enjoys adding that little bit extra. I am also lucky to have a direct line to Mr Giersiepen, I value him as an employer. Then you are happy to do a bit more than would be "necessary". This also applies to most of my colleagues.

PROFILE OF SEBASTIAN MARZ


Born
1982

At Gira since
2001

Training
as industrial business management assistant

Studies
From 2005 to 2010 Sebastian completed a part-time continuing educational course as an industrial engineer.

Career at Gira
After his training, Sebastian Marz worked in business administration for around two years. He has been assistant to Dirk Giersiepen, Gira's Managing Partner, since 2007. Parallel to this, he has been in charge of the introduction of SAP in the company since August 2010.

[Last updated: 2012]


Further information

Gira verwendet Cookies für Websites in der Domain gira.de. Durch die Nutzung unserer Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Erfahren Sie mehr zu den von uns oder Dritten eingesetzten Cookies und Ihren Möglichkeiten diese auszustellen in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Ok

Grenzerfahrung mit Rückendeckung

INTERVIEW MIT SEBASTIAN MARZ, ASSISTENT VON DIRK GIERSIEPEN, LEITUNG SAP-EINFÜHRUNG
STAND 2012

Mit nur 29 Jahren leitet Sebastian Marz das vielleicht größte Organisationsprojekt von Gira: die Einführung von SAP als leitende Software für sämtliche Geschäftsprozesse im Unternehmen. „Keine ganz gewöhnliche Aufgabe“, sagt der Industriekaufmann und Wirtschaftsingenieur, der schon mit 24 Jahren die Assistenz der Geschäftsführung übernahm. „Aber eine, die zu schaffen ist – wenn der Rückhalt im Unternehmen stimmt.“

Themen Dieses Artikels


Innovationsprozesse


Neue Technologien


Projektmanagement

Herr Marz, besonders vor der Einführung von SAP haben viele Unternehmen großen Respekt. Warum ist das so?

SM: Aus Sicht der Unternehmensleitung sicherlich wegen der Kosten. Aber auch die Mitarbeiter entwickeln Ängste: Wegen der Umstellung und der großen Belastung, die damit einhergeht. Man dreht in jedem Bereich das ganze System einmal auf links. Viele gewohnte Arbeitsabläufe werden in so einem Projekt verändert. Gira hat das aktuelle Softwaresystem vor 25 Jahren eingeführt, da kann man sich vorstellen, wie viel Arbeit das ist.

Es heißt immer so schön, dass schon Firmen an SAP pleitegegangen sind.

SM: Wenn man solche Horrorszenarien hört, handelt es sich ja meistens um Unternehmen, die nicht mehr richtig gesund waren und SAP vielleicht noch nutzen wollten, um ihre Geschäftsprozesse zu optimieren. Trotzdem kann ein großes, anspruchsvolles und komplexes Projekt wie dieses ein Unternehmen durchaus mal an seine Grenzen bringen.

Setzt Sie das als Projektleiter nicht enorm unter Druck? Mit 29 Jahren gehören Sie ja noch zu den jüngeren Gira Mitarbeitern.

SM: Ich verspüre bei dem Thema ganz spezielle Verantwortung für die Kollegen und auch für das gesamte Unternehmen, ich weiß ja, was daran hängt. Es gibt Momente, da geht das auch schon mal über die Schmerzgrenze hinaus.

Wie gehen Sie und Gira damit um?

SM: In dieser Situation ist es wichtig, dass es Leute gibt, die mir helfen, einen anderen Blickwinkel auf die Sache zu werfen oder noch mal einen Schritt zurückzugehen. Seit Beginn des Projekts steht mir ein erfahrener externer Berater zur Verfügung, der mich bei schwierigen Themen unterstützt. Zum anderen habe ich aber auch feste Ansprechpartner in der Geschäftsleitung und Personalabteilung, auf die ich zählen kann.

Was gehört konkret zu Ihren Tätigkeiten im Projekt?

SM: Das ist eigentlich die klassische Projektmanagement-Tätigkeit, nur in einer recht umfassenden Größenordnung. Zu Beginn haben wir in einem kleineren Kreis erst mal die Projektstrukturen geschaffen, dann ging es um die Budget- und Zeitplanung. Hat ein Teilprojekt Probleme mit den Dienstleistern, die wir für die SAP-Einführung beauftragt haben, unterstütze ich bei der Problemlösung. Zusätzlich begleite ich die Testfälle, um die Integration des Systems gemeinsam mit den Teilprojektleitern sicherzustellen.

Gegen Ende wird es dann auch noch mal richtig spannend, oder?

SM: Ja, denn irgendwann muss ich zusammen mit meinen Kollegen eine Empfehlung zur Go-life-Entscheidung gegenüber der Geschäftsführung aussprechen, nach der Gira anfängt, komplett mit dem System zu arbeiten. Dabei gilt es, die Risiken ganz genau abzuwägen. Der Betrieb muss problemlos weiterlaufen, sodass unsere Kunden lückenlos beliefert werden können. Das hat die höchste Priorität.



Sebastian Marz findet den Ausgleich zu seinem durchaus sportlichen Berufsleben beim Handball, normalerweise jedenfalls. „Momentan halte ich mich mit dem Spiel zurück, denn mich gerade jetzt zu verletzen, zum Beispiel mit einem Kreuzbandriss für zwei Wochen im Krankenhaus zu liegen, wäre nicht gerade förderlich für das Projekt.“


Ihr Projektteam zieht sich ja durch das ganze Haus, weil alle Bereiche berührt werden. Von welcher Größenordnung sprechen wir hier?

SM: Unterschiedlich. Das Kernteam besteht aus zehn Teilprojektleitern und rund zehn Leuten aus der IT. Teilweise kommen da noch rund zehn Prozessexperten dazu, und in Hochphasen, wo die Massentests durchgeführt werden, sind es auch mal 50 bis 60 Leute, die gleichzeitig am Projekt arbeiten.

Was ist für Sie persönlich die größte Herausforderung?

SM: Das sind zwei Dinge. Erst mal die Komplexität des gesamten Systems. Die Just-intime- Fertigung stellt große Anforderungen an das SAP-System, etwa in Bezug auf das Fehlerhandling. Zum anderen ist es eine große Herausforderung, die Menschen mitzunehmen. Diesen Punkt sehe ich als einen der wichtigsten Schritte überhaupt an. Da stehen wirklich viele Ängste im Raum, die den Menschen unbedingt genommen werden müssen.

Wie gehen Sie damit um?

SM: Wir haben ein sehr umfangreiches Schulungskonzept erarbeitet und verschiedene Schulungsräume eingerichtet. Zunächst lernen die sogenannten internen Multiplikatoren, mit dem System umzugehen, danach geben diese ihr Wissen weiter. Zusätzlich arbeiten wir mit einem speziellen Softwaretool, das verschiedenste Prozesse aufzeichnet, die später am Arbeitsplatz zur Erinnerung wieder abgerufen werden können.

Wie schaffen Sie es, die Menschen in diesem Massenprojekt zusammenzuhalten und nichts zu übersehen?

SM: Wir haben Regelmeetings mit den Teilprojektleitern und dazu Projekträume nahe an den jeweiligen Bereichen geschaffen, damit die Mitarbeiter kurze Wege haben, sich mal eben treffen zu können. Dazu suchen wir immer den engen Kontakt zum Betriebsrat, damit wir die Anliegen der involvierten Mitarbeiter im Blick behalten. Das ist eine sehr gute Situation, die wir hier haben. In jeder zweiten Woche sitzen wir zusammen und sprechen ganz offen miteinander.

Müssen Sie eigentlich manchmal Überstunden machen?

SM: Die zeitliche Belastung bei dem Projekt ist sicherlich extrem. In den Hochzeiten muss man, bei allem Engagement für Gira, aber auch mal darauf achten, dass man es nicht übertreibt. Bei Gira sind Kollegen teilweise so begeisterungsfähig für ein Thema, dass sie vieles um sich herum vergessen. Darin steckt auch ein gewisses Risiko, und darum ist es wichtig, vom Arbeitgeber die Aussage zu bekommen: Wir passen da schon auf dich auf. Über diese Dinge kann man hier aber auch offen sprechen.

Hatten Sie nicht zu Beginn einen Heidenrespekt vor diesem Projekt? Sie haben doch bestimmt geahnt, dass hier sehr viel Arbeit auf Sie zukommen würde, und immerhin steckten Sie zusätzlich noch mitten im Stress Ihrer Diplomarbeit.

SM: Erst mal war ich schon ein bisschen erschlagen, aber ich denke, zu Beginn eines solchen Projektes ist das normal. Außerdem war ich bereits vorher in das SAP-Projekt involviert und wusste so ungefähr, was auf mich zukommt. Es gab Dinge, die in der Vergangenheit nicht so gut gelaufen waren, aber nach einem Gespräch mit Geschäftsleitung und Personalabteilung hatte ich die notwendige Rückendeckung und auch die Sicherheit, die ich für mich brauchte. Ich muss sagen, gerade wenn Herr Giersiepen eine Aussage macht und wenn es nur eine mündliche ist, dann kann man sich darauf auch verlassen.

Wenn Sie jetzt ein Resümee ziehen müssten, was würden Sie sagen?

SM: Ich würde sagen, dass man sich in so einer Phase extrem weiterentwickelt. Ich bin ganz klar an die eigenen Grenzen gekommen, aber ich habe auch sehr viel gelernt. Das Projekt geht jetzt schon über eineinhalb Jahre, und es gab Situationen, in denen ich mich zu Anfang sehr unwohl gefühlt habe, die aber jetzt überhaupt kein Problem mehr sind.

Was waren das für Situationen?

SM: Zum Beispiel Gesprächsrunden mit großen Gruppen zu leiten und kritische Themen mit deutlich älteren und erfahreneren Kollegen zu besprechen. Oder Situationen, in denen ich die Interessen unseres Unternehmens klar vor der Geschäftsführung der externen Projektpartner vertrete.

Sie stehen der Sache also nach wie vor positiv gegenüber?

SM: Ja, ich bin jemand, der sich gerne mit neuen Aufgaben auseinandersetzt, der Spaß daran hat, noch ein Quäntchen obenauf zu legen. Dazu habe ich auch das Glück, den direkten Draht zu Herrn Giersiepen zu haben, ich schätze ihn als Arbeitgeber sehr. Da macht man gerne auch mal ein bisschen mehr, als vielleicht „nötig“ wäre. Das gilt übrigens für die meisten meiner Kollegen auch.

STECKBRIEF SEBASTIAN MARZ


Geboren
1982

Bei Gira seit
2001

Ausbildung
zum Industriekaufmann

Studium
Von 2005 bis 2010 absolvierte Sebastian ein berufsbegleitendes Studium zum Wirtschaftsingenieur.

Werdegang bei Gira
Nach seiner Ausbildung arbeitete Sebastian Marz rund zwei Jahre in der Betriebswirtschaft. Seit 2007 ist er als Assistent von Dirk Giersiepen tätig, der geschäftsführender Gesellschafter von Gira ist. Parallel dazu leitet er seit August 2010 die SAP-Einführung im Unternehmen.

[Stand 2012]


Weitere Informationen