Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Family-oriented career woman

INTERVIEW WITH CHRISTIANE FASTENAU, HEAD OF EXPORT-MARKETING LAST UPDATED: 2012

Juggling children and a career: Many women ask themselves how this can work. Christiane Fastenau is mother to a son and daughter aged nine and twelve. She has been head of Export Marketing on a part time basis for two years and has therefore committed herself to a job which entails frequent trips abroad. "A great deal is possible" she says, "if the whole package is right."

Topics in this article


Work/family balance


Flexible working hours and working from home


International opportunities

Ms Fastenau, together with a colleague you are in charge of 38 export countries in your area. You frequently travel around the world and have a challenging job although you have two children. Are you the "Ursula von der Leyen" of Gira?

CF: No, definitely not, that would be overstating it! Also, I only have two children, not seven.

Many woman are asking themselves how they can juggle having children and a job that is also fulfilling. How do you manage this?

CF: I would say, it is actually the whole package. Family is very important in our house. My husband supports me, he is self-employed and can arrange his time to fit in with my needs. I can also always fall back on my mother, parents in law and my sister, who is my children's childminder. On the other hand, I also have Gira, which gave me the opportunity to work part-time in this position.

Do you see this as an opportunity rather than a matter of course?

CF: Yes, I see it as an opportunity, for it must first be possible, in terms of organisation, to work 20, 25 or 30 hours and to work from home two days of the week. The important thing is that I can take part in as many work meetings as possible.

What does your week look like exactly?

CF: I currently work 35 hours a week. I work a full day at the company on Monday and Wednesday, and half a day on Friday. I work from home on Tuesday and Thursday. This rhythm is geared to the children's timetables and can sometimes also change.

How do your customers cope with it?

CF: My customers have got used to it. They know how I work and also call me at home. In the meantime, I have become quite close to many of them. They know my children and, in return, I know when it's the birthday of my customer's dachshund or if someone is in hospital. We know how to work together and this makes things easier.

So everything usually runs smooth and harmoniously?

CF: Sometimes my head of department gulps when I have to leave in the middle of something. If it's just after four o'clock, for example, and I have to pick up my daughter from music school at half past four. That is a fixed time and I can't turn up an half an hour late. No-one has ever reproached me for it but of course this is sometimes still a challenge for my boss. On the other hand, I try to be 100% reliable, and make sure that I manage to deal with my workload and the results are right. It's always about give and take.


Christiane Fastenau with Katharina [12] and Laurenz [9] on the sofa at home. "After both pregnancies, I returned to work for 20 hours per week, which was then increased as the children grew older. Gira makes this possible, and this flexibility has always been one of the company's fundamental principles."


And is this a challenge for your colleague?

CF: My colleague Mr Keup has to accept that his supervisor is not there every day. But we talk on the phone every day and exchange views. Recently, we were joking about the subject: "On Tuesdays", he said "it's always relaxed here, because you're not around". I know that it is not relaxed for him. Of course, this was an adjustment for him.

Your children are now nine and twelve years old. This means that you've now been working like this for about eleven years?

CF: The attitude, this flexibility has always been one of the company's fundamental principles, this was a matter of course without management making a big issue of it. Twelve years ago I was also given the opportunity to take a year off, and then resume my previous role. I was already working from home back then. Today, we call this trust-based working hours and have stipulated this in the works agreement. I always had the opportunity to do this at Gira.

It wasn't normal in those days, was it?

CF: No. It was normal at that time for mothers to stay at home and look after the children. And there were also a few older colleagues who couldn't resist making comments about it.

And the women said nothing?

CF: No, they didn't as they all knew that they would be in the same situation sooner or later and would also have to make a decision. Men usually have the convenient version: The wife is at home and they are the breadwinner. That's easy.

How do you manage when you travel?

CF: I cut down on this for the period when the children were small. This has been increasing for some time now, as it's easier, of course, when the children are older.

Do you still like travelling after all these years?

CF: Yes. Two weeks in China, who wouldn't enjoy that?

Whereabouts were you there?

CF: I have been to China four times. The last trip went from Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai, Xiamen, Guangzhou, Chongqing to Xian …

That sounds tiring.

CF: Yes. But no matter. You can't always communicate with each other on the phone. Sometimes in life you have to meet up in person. This has a lot to do with esteem and respect for the other person. I can't work in international marketing and then not travel. Travel is simply part of the job.

What are your specific tasks when you are on the move?

CF: I attend trade fairs, conduct planning discussions for marketing with the importer, sometimes I visit a construction site and talk to the architect. And then I would like to get a general impression of the countries and know: How is marketing carried out there? I walk down the streets, take photographs and look at which exhibitions, business and media are available and which co-operations are possible. You sometimes encounter things that are not usual in Europe.

Which things, for example?

CF: In China, for example, there are small screens that you can't turn off in the headrests of taxis and on trains, which play advertisements with audio. You simply have to watch it.

Do you speak 37 languages?

CF: No, only English. But this is also a vital skill. On Mondays, my colleagues from marketing and I have three hours of lessons together. Gira offers these English lessons to all employees working in international relations.

And this also works in China?

CF: Yes. Although this year I was surprised at how few Chinese really speak English. On my last trip I managed to fulfil a childhood dream there.

Which one?

CF: I was on the Great Wall of China.

And how was it?

CF: Very sobering. The landscape was of course breathtaking. But it is very steep and the steps are so eroded that you have to be careful. On pictures the wall is always depicted as being empty. In reality, only part of it is open and it is so crowed that you have to push through the crowd.

Are you still satisfied in your job even after 20 years?

CF: I believe I have the best job of all. One minute I am dealing with Singapore and the next with the Netherlands or whatever country it happens to be. I have no routine at all. The day has finished before I have a chance to look at my watch.

PROFILE OF CHRISTIANE FASTENAU


Born
1965

At Gira since
1991

Studies
Studied Economics, specialising in marketing and graduated as an economist

Career at Gira
Christiane Fastenau started at Gira in Marketing for the topic country marketing. She has been head of the Export Marketing division since 2010. During her time at Gira she completed further training measures in the areas:

- Business English (ongoing)
- Intercultural qualification
- Marketing compact
- Labour law
- Market success in India
- Business in China
- Coaching for executives
- Presentation techniques

[Last updated: 2012]


Further information

Karrierefrau mit Familiensinn

INTERVIEW MIT CHRISTIANE FASTENAU, LEITERIN EXPORT-MARKETING
STAND 2012

Kind und Karriere: Viele Frauen stellen sich die Frage, wie das funktionieren kann. Christiane Fastenau ist Mutter eines Sohnes und einer Tochter im Alter von neun und zwölf Jahren. Seit zwei Jahren leitet sie den Bereich Export- Marketing in Teilzeit und hat sich damit einer Arbeit verschrieben, bei der häufige Auslandsreisen dazugehören. „Vieles ist möglich“, sagt sie, „wenn das gesamte Paket stimmt.“

Themen Dieses Artikels


Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie


Flexible Arbeitszeiten und Homeoffice


Internationale Möglichkeiten

Frau Fastenau, Sie betreuen in Ihrem Bereich gemeinsam mit einem Mitarbeiter 38 Export-Länder. Sie reisen viel um die Welt und haben einen ausgefüllten Job, obwohl Sie zwei Kinder haben. Sind Sie die „Ursula von der Leyen“ von Gira?

CF: Nein, ganz bestimmt nicht, das fehlte mir noch. Ich habe ja auch nur zwei und nicht sieben Kinder.

Viele Frauen beschäftigen sich mit der Frage, wie die Schere zwischen Kind und einem Beruf, der auch Erfüllung bietet, klappen kann. Wie funktioniert das bei Ihnen?

CF: Ich würde sagen, das ist eigentlich das gesamte Paket. Bei uns zu Hause wird das Thema Familie gelebt. Mein Mann unterstützt mich, der ist selbstständig und kann sich die Termine auch mal so einteilen, wie ich das brauche. Dazu kann ich immer auf meine Mutter, die Schwiegereltern und meine Schwester zurückgreifen, die die Tagesmutter für meine Kinder ist. Auf der anderen Seite habe ich aber auch das Unternehmen Gira, das mir überhaupt die Chance gegeben hat, diese Position in Teilzeit auszufüllen.

Das empfinden Sie als Chance und nicht als Selbstverständlichkeit?

CF: Ja, das sehe ich als Chance, denn es muss ja von der Organisation her erst mal möglich sein, 20, 25 oder 30 Stunden zu arbeiten, und davon noch zwei Tage die Woche zu Hause. Wichtig ist vor allem, dass ich an möglichst vielen Arbeitssitzungen teilnehmen kann.

Wie sieht Ihre Woche genau aus?

CF: Ich arbeite momentan 35 Stunden die Woche. Montags und mittwochs bin ich den ganzen Tag und freitags den halben Tag im Unternehmen. Dienstags und donnerstags arbeite ich im Homeoffice. Dieser Rhythmus ist auf die Stundenpläne der Kinder abgestimmt und kann auch schon mal wechseln.

Wie kommen Ihre Kunden damit zurecht?

CF: Meine Kunden haben sich daran gewöhnt. Sie wissen, wie ich arbeite, und rufen auch zu Hause an. Mit vielen bin ich mittlerweile sowieso recht nahe. Sie kennen meine Kinder, und im Gegenzug weiß ich, wann der Dackel meiner Kunden Geburtstag hat oder wenn jemand im Krankenhaus liegt. Das ist eingespielt und macht auch darum die Sache leichter.

Also läuft alles meistens harmonisch und reibungslos?

CF: Mein Abteilungsleiter schluckt schon manchmal, wenn ich mittendrin gehen muss. Dann ist es zum Beispiel kurz nach vier, und um halb fünf muss ich meine Tochter von der Musikschule abholen. Das ist ein fixer Termin, da kann ich nicht eine halbe Stunde später da sein. Mir ist da nie ein Vorwurf gemacht worden, aber natürlich ist das für meinen Chef trotzdem manchmal eine Herausforderung. Auf der anderen Seite versuche ich, zu 100 % verlässlich zu sein, also darauf zu achten, dass ich mein Pensum schaffe und die Ergebnisse stimmen. Es ist immer ein Geben und Nehmen.


Christiane Fastenau mit Katharina [12] und Laurenz [9] auf dem heimischen Sofa. „Nach den Schwangerschaften habe ich jeweils mit 20 Stunden wieder angefangen und dann nach Alter der Kinder gesteigert. Bei Gira ist das möglich, diese Flexibilität war schon immer eine Grundhaltung des Unternehmens.“


Und für Ihren Mitarbeiter ist das keine Herausforderung?

CF: Mein Mitarbeiter Herr Keup muss akzeptieren, dass seine Vorgesetzte nicht jeden Tag da ist. Wir telefonieren aber täglich und tauschen uns aus. Gerade haben wir noch über das Thema gescherzt: „Dienstags“, sagt er, „ist es hier immer locker, dann bist du ja nicht da“. Ich weiß, dass es für ihn nicht locker ist. Natürlich ist das auch für ihn eine Umstellung gewesen.

Ihre Kinder sind jetzt neun und zwölf Jahre alt. Das bedeutet, Sie arbeiten jetzt seit rund elf Jahren genau so?

CF: Die Einstellung, diese Flexibilität war immer eine Grundhaltung des Unternehmens, das war selbstverständlich, ohne von der Geschäftsführung groß thematisiert worden zu sein. Ich habe auch vor zwölf Jahren schon die Möglichkeit bekommen, für ein Jahr auszusteigen, und danach meine bisherige Aufgabe wieder aufzunehmen. Auch damals habe ich schon von zu Hause gearbeitet. Heute nennen wir das Vertrauensarbeitszeit und haben das in der Betriebsvereinbarung geregelt. Die Möglichkeit gab es für mich bei Gira aber schon immer.

Normal war das für die Zeit nicht, oder?

CF: Nein. Normal war damals, dass die Mütter zu Hause blieben und die Kinder versorgten. Da gab es auch schon mal ein paar ältere Arbeitskollegen, die sich einen Spruch nicht verkneifen konnten.

Von den Frauen kam nichts?

CF: Nein, von denen eher nicht, die wussten ja alle, früher oder später komme ich in die gleiche Situation, dann muss ich mich auch entscheiden. Die Männer haben ja meistens die Komfort- Variante: Die Frau ist zu Hause, sie verdienen das Geld. Das ist easy.

Wie machen Sie das, wenn Sie verreisen?

CF: Ich habe das eine Zeit lang eingeschränkt, als die Kinder kleiner waren. Seit einiger Zeit nimmt das wieder zu. Weil das natürlich auch leichter geht, wenn die Kinder größer werden.

Reisen Sie nach all den Jahren noch immer gerne?

CF: Ja. Zwei Wochen China, wer will das nicht?

Wo waren Sie dort überall?

CF: In China war ich mittlerweile vier Mal. Die letzte Reise ging von Peking, Tianjin, Schanghai, Xiamen, Guangzhou, Chongqing nach Xian …

Das klingt anstrengend.

CF: Ja. Aber egal. Man kann nicht immer nur per Telefon miteinander kommunizieren. Irgendwann im Leben muss man sich auch mal treffen. Das hat viel mit Achtung und Respekt vor dem anderen zu tun. Ich kann nicht internationales Marketing machen und dann nicht reisen. Reisen gehört einfach dazu.

Was gehört konkret zu Ihren Tätigkeiten, wenn Sie unterwegs sind?

CF: Ich besuche Messen, führe Planungsgespräche für das Marketing beim Importeur, manchmal gehe ich auch auf eine Baustelle und unterhalte mich mit dem Architekten. Und dann möchte ich mir auch ein generelles Bild von den Ländern verschaffen und wissen: Wie wird dort überhaupt Marketing gemacht? Dazu gehe ich durch die Straßen, fotografiere und schaue mir an, welche Ausstellungen, Geschäfte und Medien es gibt, welche Kooperationen möglich sind. Man stößt teilweise auf Dinge, die so in Europa nicht üblich sind.

Auf welche denn zum Beispiel?

CF: In China gibt es zum Beispiel kleine Bildschirme, die man nicht abstellen kann, in den Kopfstützen der Taxen oder auch in der Bahn, auf denen Werbung mit Ton läuft. Da muss man einfach hinschauen.

Sprechen Sie 37 Sprachen?

CF: Nein, nur Englisch. Das muss man aber auch können. Montags gehen meine Kollegen aus dem Marketing und ich gemeinsam für drei Stunden zum Unterricht. Gira bietet diesen Englischunterricht allen Mitarbeitern an, die in internationalen Beziehungen arbeiten.

Und das klappt auch in China?

CF: Ja. Obwohl ich mich dieses Jahr gewundert habe, wie wenig Chinesen wirklich Englisch sprechen. Bei der letzten Reise habe ich mir dort übrigens einen Kindheitstraum erfüllt.

Welchen?

CF: Ich war auf der Chinesischen Mauer.

Und wie war’s?

CF: Sehr ernüchternd. Natürlich war die Landschaft atemberaubend. Aber es ist unglaublich steil, und die Stufen sind so ausgewaschen, dass man ziemlich aufpassen muss. Auf den Bildern sieht man die Mauer immer, wenn sie schön leer ist. In Wirklichkeit ist aber nur ein Teil davon geöffnet, und in dem ist es so voll, dass man sich durch die Menge schieben muss.

Sie sind also auch nach 20 Jahren noch zufrieden in Ihrem Job?

CF: Ich finde, dass ich den tollsten Job von allen habe. In der einen Minute beschäftige ich mich mit Singapur und in der nächsten mit den Niederlanden oder mit welchem Land auch immer. Ich habe überhaupt keine Routine. Der Tag ist vorbei, bevor ich auf die Uhr schauen kann.

STECKBRIEF CHRISTIANE FASTENAU


Geboren
1965

Bei Gira seit
1991

Studium
Studium der Wirtschaftswissenschaften mit Schwerpunkt Marketing und Abschluss zur Diplom Ökonomin

Werdegang bei Gira
Christiane Fastenau startete bei Gira im Marketing für das Thema Ländermarketing. Seit 2010 ist sie Leiterin des Bereichs Export-Marketing. Während ihrer Zeit bei Gira absolvierte sie Weiterbildungmaßnahmen in den Bereichen:

- Business English (laufend)
- Interkulturelle Qualifizierung
- Marketing kompakt
- Arbeitsrecht
- Markterfolg in Indien
- Business in China
- Coaching für Führungskräfte
- Präsentationstechnik

[Stand 2012]


Weitere Informationen